RandomScrawls
Decidedly mundane…

A Flammable New Year Celebration

I was afraid that my new year celebration this time will be a dud. With my lovely Miss D going to Bandung for the holidays with her family, my mom and sister still in Surabaya, and my pop going to Bogor to visit his ailing brother, is there any reason not to? Even Mbak Tari, my housemaid, asked permission to celebrate the new year with her husband and in-laws in Ancol. But later events last night made sure that my fears wouldn’t become a reality. Hence, I can now proudly say that my new year celebration is quite a fiery one – literally.

The night started quite slow, with Adam & Wendy coming late to my home. We had a plan to spend the new year’s eve at my home, by the way. We had to dump the supposed barbeque party idea because: a. I don’t have any grill nor any kind of barbeque equipment at my home, and b. I was too lazy to get out the supermarket to buy the logistics required. So we went to the local Pizza Hut instead.

After that we went to my home. We watched some movies on the TV, at first. Ten minutes before midnight, I decided to do something that would set some flammable chain of events: I decided to bring out some unused fireworks I bought for last Lebaran.

At the stroke of midnight we congratulate each other and started to light the fireworks at the second floor balcony of my home (a decision I would soon regret). The usual oohs, aahs, and laughter ensued. Suddenly, I felt some bowel movement and excused myself to use the facilities. While I was there in the bathroom, I heard Adam & Wendy screamed and the sound of them descending the stairs. Thinking that it was just a box of fireworks fell and the guys was just trying to get them back up, I did nothing and went on with my activities.

When I went out the balcony again, I found the guys were laughing a nervous laughter. Adam pointed downstairs at the canopy which was in my house’s frontyard (the canopy acted as a roof for two chairs and a small table on which my mom & pop usually sit at nights when they chat). And to my horror, there was a big gaping hole on the canopy! It seemed that perhaps some ember from our fireworks had flew on top of it and set it on fire. Lucky that Wendy saw it and quickly rushed downstairs and douse it off with water from the garden hose. All the while Adam looked for a water bucket and got back only with a bowl instead. Tsk.. tsk.. tsk, Adam. Shame on you! *grin*

For your enjoyment, I have uploaded some photos of the occasion to Flickr. I will put some of them here chronologically. Click on them to see larger versions. You can see the whole set here.

It started out as a decent night. Friends hanging out together for the new year’s eve.
The activity that started it all.
The horror. A big gaping hole on my parent’s canopy.
It even made the chair under the canopy somewhat dalmatian-y.
You should be ashamed of yourself, not laughing like that, Adam!
A closer inspection of the damage on the morning after.
I made the culprits pay for what they’ve done: some clean up is in order! (I took part in the clean up too, note you.)
The end result seen from the balcony.
Ahh, (almost) as good as new. Just don’t look upward when under the canopy.
Playing nice with my father? Out of guilt, perhaps?

That’s about it. I’m sure I won’t forget the new year’s eve of 2007. Thank you very much guys!

And, hey! Happy new year 2007 to you! May this new year is blessed by God almighty to bring us all much joy, health and success.

17 Responses to “A Flammable New Year Celebration”

  1. serius banget ceritanya ga…
    kenapa ente ndak berdayain gardine.or.id saja?

  2. @ Dhika :

    Umm. Sedang diupayakan sih. Tadinya gw mau redirect blog ini dari subdomain di gardine.or.id, cuma kok gw lupa melulu ngurusinnya. Kalo elo cek di dnsstuff.com, blog.gardine.or.id sih udah nunjuk ke WordPress. Tapi ya itu, gw lupa melulu beli domain redirection di WordPress-nya. Hehe. Jadi salah satu resolusi gw di 2007 deh. :P

  3. huekekekekekek..taun barunya penuh semangat doung ya! :P hehehe..semangat main kembang apinya, semangat padamin apinya, semangat bersiin bekasnya. semangat laporan ke ibunya, plus semangat untuk ngumpulin duit untuk ganti canopy-nya ibu..hahahaha..
    cayang2..ditinggal kok ya nakal gitu seh..(huehehehehe)

  4. @ ceuceu’dince :

    Eh! Aku nggak konsen gara-gara ditinggal kamu nih.. :P Jadi kamu harusnya ikut tanggung jawab. Kamu dan Telkomsel dan Mentari! Huehehehehe.

  5. HUAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! Dasar DODOL!!!!!
    Kalian udah kaya 3 stooges aja.
    Udah gitu, masa cowok2 mainnya kembang api begituan??
    “Macho” bener.
    Mbok ya maen petasan atau skalian kembang api air mancur.
    Kan lbh menegangkan kl jadinya dibekuk sm hansip :D

  6. Btw, bagian adam mencoba memadamkan api pake semangkok air itu sempurna bgt! Menunjukkan skali aslinya kalian :P

  7. @ Vita Giggs :

    Wueitz! Jangan salah! Air mancur juga ada! Coba aja liat di mari.

    Soal Adam dan mangkok ajaibnya itu ya memang begitu adanya. Makanya gw heran kenapa Pertamina mau nerima dia. Kurang tenaga kasar kali ya?

    Dan perlu gw tegaskan lagi bahwa gw sedang menunaikan tugas mulia pada saat semua ini terjadi. Jadi urusan pemadaman waktu itu udah serah terima kepada dua perusuh itu. Hehehe.

  8. #gardine,
    kenapa mesti beli d wp.com? kenapa ndak run your own wp saja?
    server d hosting sendiri emang kalah jauh ama wp.com, cuma kalo ‘numpang’ ndak seru ah… apalagi ngakunya anak IT *provokasi

  9. @ Dhika :

    Sempet kepikiran sih, apalagi host gw juga support WP. Belum lagi kalo inget daya tarik kustomisasi yang bener-bener menggiurkan itu. *nyam* Tapi nggak ah. Overhead terlalu tinggi. Overhead pikiran dan tenaga, maksudnya. Itu, plus tidak adanya perlindungan akismet. Hehe.

    Akismet ini perlu loh! Bayangin aja. Blog gw yang relatif obscure gini aja seminggu bisa dapet 75 spam comments. Pegel aja gw kalo kerjaan sehari-hari cuma ngapusin spam.

  10. #gardine,
    hehehehe…elu ni lagi ngetest ane apa emang ini bukti bahwa dirimu perlu xplor wp lebih dalam.
    pernah denger API ndak? akismet bisa ditempel di wp kita dengan dukungan api dari wp.com. kalau akismet krg manjur, ada spam karma, bayesian, etc.
    makanya, main2lah ke blog ane, spam bisa jadi hiasan yg menarik :)

  11. @ Dhika :

    Oh. Ada API-nya toh. :P Jadi kita nebeng engine Akismet-nya WP.com? You’re right. I ought to delve more into WP.

    Dulu sampe-sampe gw riset loh untuk pake hosting luar. Yahoo.com sempat gw lirik. Tapi gw pikir-pikir, serius amat?! Hehe.

    Blog lo ya? Gw terakhir datengin pas masih di batikkejora(?) itu dulu. Belom liat lagi. Janji, gw liat lagi deh. Gw rasa udah muantab nih set-up WP-nya. Huehehehe.

    Ya wis lah. Rasanya thread soal WP yang nyangkut di posting soal tahun baru ini perlu disudahi. OOT banget. :P Intinya, gw perlu belajar banyak (salah satunya bisa ke elo nih) soal WP. Setuju?

  12. #gardine,
    eureka! mission accomplished! provokasi berhasil! hehehe
    coba tengok dns ane:
    http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=dirgaa.com
    bersyukurlah punya temen yg mau bagi2 hostingnya, lha wong ada 200GB space ama 2TB bandwith je *dan terus nambah :)
    coba tengok mx record:
    http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/dnstime.ch?name=dirgaa.com&type=MX
    bersyukurlah, google emang humble abis :)

    ciao!

  13. makanya arga sombong sih ga pernah sms gw!
    pdhal gw taun baru di jkt , barbeque an ma keluarga gw!
    coba kalian ke rumah, kan lumayan bisa minta makan ma nyokap gw ( seperti biasa) nyokap jg nanyain kalian mulu tuh..
    gw jg pas taun baru kmrn lg males bgt diajakin keluar, hehehe gw dah tua kali ya? enakan drumah ma keluarga…

  14. @ Dhika :

    Gw gak ngerti apa hubungannya google dan website elo? *bingung*

    @ yelly :

    Gubrag. Ngapain SMS kalo ada teknologi kuno yang namanya e-mail, Yel. Hehe. Lo di Jakarta toh? Berarti elo yang sombong gak SMS-SMS gw juga. :)

  15. http://google.com/hosted/
    http://mail.google.com/a/dirgaa.com
    *deuh kemana saja tho kangmas, kerjanya di gua yg gulita ya atau lagi lost in teleporter?

  16. @ Dhika :

    Weleh. Terlalu lama berkutat dengan BRINETS, SKN, RTGS, OPICS, S4 dan singkatan-singkatan berhuruf besar lainnya. :P

  17. […] in Love With My Family Due to my fiery new year’s eve incident, the canopy in our frontyard was ruined. When my mother was back from Surabaya a month later, she […]


Leave a Reply

