RandomScrawls
Decidedly mundane…

News from the Frontlines #7

Wed, 04/11, 05.02 am. My mother called from Japan, practically waking me up just in time to prepare myself to go to work. She told me that everything’s okay with my father. He started his walking therapy yesterday (04/10). His condition is way better than the day after the surgery. Alhamdulillah.

She had slept back at the apartment. She also told me about her (mis)adventures in Tokyo. Apparently she had taken the wrong bus home. She usually takes the bus number 01, but got on bus 07 instead. She then told the bus drive, “I’m lost. I want go to Higashi-Ueno.” Thank God the bus driver understood her broken English and he gave her the complete directions to her apartment. She got home safe and sound at the end. Kudos for your English & courage, Mom! I miss you and Pop so much.

One Response to “News from the Frontlines #7”

  1. “Thank God the bus driver understood her broken English and he gave her the complete directions”

    I’m impressed how things worked out! Giving direction with little language understanding is impressive!


Leave a Reply

