RandomScrawls
Decidedly mundane…

My Wired Home

[Image]As of today, we have broadband Internet connection in our beloved home by way of cable, courtesy of FastNet. Considering its flat IDR 99,000 monthly fee for unlimited traffic, it’s quite a bargain compared to other connection methods (3.5G, CDMA, ADSL, PSTN dial-up, etc.).

I use my trusty old – and now discontinued – Motorola SurfBoard 5100, which I bought back in 2004. The package I’m subscribed to doesn’t come with a free cable modem, though FastNet sells Scientific Atlanta cable-modems for an additional IDR 450,000.

[Image]What about its speed, you may ask? Well. I’ve seen download speeds of up to 60-plus KB/sec, but 30 to 40 KB/sec is the norm. When I continuously ping a site, I saw several “request timed out” messages too. In general, the response times are still better than the other connection methods.

Support was shabby, sadly. All questions and/or help request must be directed through a call-center which is virtually unreachable. I tried to subscribe via the call-center for a week and I didn’t manage to score a single conversation with the any of the CSRs. How many CSRs do they have running the call-center? Three? If you intend to subscribe, use the web-form application on their website. It’s the best bet, though it took a week for the technician to come to my home after I filled it.

If you’re a previous subscriber to KabelVision – FirstMedia previous name – just like me, you’ll be happy to know that they now allow internet-only subscription. Something the didn’t have before the name-change.

BTW, I’ve heard rumors that the connections speeds will grind down as the number of subscriber exponentially rises – 10,000 on their first two months.

Okay, that’s all for now. I think I’ll be back to my hours of listless websurfing. Woohoo!

Lessons learned:

  • The SB5100 has an internal website for you to see its configured parameters and status. You can visit it at the address http://192.168.100.1. This is not mentioned even on the modem’s user manual. Are you reading this, Motorola?!
  • It’s okay to let the technician go even before your cable modem came online. It will come online eventually, it takes a little bit of time.
  • If you’re planning on subscribing to FastNet but you’ll use your own modem, it’s a best practice to submit your modem’s MAC address beforehand. It’ll get you online faster.

UPDATE: It seems that the connection tends to slow down at night. Big surprise, huh? Take last night (10/31) for example. I got a download speed of a mere – and painful – 1 to 4 KB/sec.

One Response to “My Wired Home”

  1. […] More Fastnet Troubles After advertising its prowess a few days earlier, I was confronted with the ugly side of Fastnet’s service. I got blacked […]


Leave a Reply

