RandomScrawls
Decidedly mundane…

Yogyakarta

Pulang ke kotamu, ada setangkup haru dalam rindu
Masih seperti dulu
Tiap sudut menyapaku bersahabat penuh selaksa makna
Terhanyut aku akan nostalgi saat kita sering luangkan waktu
Nikmati bersama suasana Jogja

I returned to the omni-named city – Jogjakarta, Yogyakarta, Ngayogyakarta Hadiningrat – on December 25th and received a thunderous welcome from the city’s currently everpresent rain. I was posted there for six weeks during my 11 months rookie training course with The Company, so I can really relate to Yogyakarta. Though this is not the first time I returned since then, but it is my first after about a year and a half.

I was there from December 25th to December 27th for a training course – Focustraco‘s Internal Controls: Complying with Sarbanes-Oxley Act Section 302 and 404 – at the five-star Melia Purosani Hotel. Unfortunately, the course didn’t help much with my profession. Apparently, it is concerned with internal control over financial reporting (ICOFR) so a general auditor – as opposed to an IS auditor –will benefit more from such a course. It did include some application and IT-related controls, though, so not all is lost.

The stay at the hotel was pleasant, though – judging from the accommodations and food – I don’t get why they gave five-stars to the hotel. The rooms was not exactly what I’d call luxurious and the choice of food didn’t reflect its five-stars quality with its offerings of mainly traditional cuisines. I think Grand Mercure Yogyakarta‘s four-stars luxury and Ibis Mailoboro‘s food choices somewhat excedes Melia’s on this one.

The Mandala flight RI 344 landed around 9.40pm – an hour delayed, due to the tired “operational reasons”. After grabbing my checked baggage I went to the official taxi desk – the norm at military airports such as Yogyakarta’s Adi Sucipto where they don’t allow regular metered taxis. “IDR 45,000,” said the attendant. Whoa! That’s quite a sum! I paid anyway and headed to the long taxi queue line. After waiting for about 20 minutes – the heavy rain made the demand for taxis rose – I got into my taxi and told the driver to go to Melia Purosani. My suspicion was proven, the meter displayed IDR 27,000 when we arrived at Purosani’s lobby. I checked in at Purosani at around 10.25pm. I quickly got into my room and had a good night sleep.

I didn’t get around much in Yogyakarta this time. After all, it was just a two days training and I had a lot of things to do. My father asked me to buy him a Javanese classical music audio cassette, one of my colleagues also asked something akin to that, and I had to deliver few things from my mom to my aunts who live in Yogyakarta.

There are a few gastronomical highlights though. On the second night, my colleague, who was assigned to the same training, asked me out to dinner with his family. We went to a Javanese fried noodle & rice stall opposite of the Bethesda Hospital, on the corner of the Lion Superindo Supermarket intersection (click here for the GoogleMap, it’s on the dead center). I tried the fried rice and – unlike the others – this one was quite good. My colleague also recommended the mie godog – noodle soup with vegetables – but alas, my stomach couldn’t ask for more.

The other highlight was Parsley Bakery & Café at Jalan Kaliurang KM 5,5. It’s on the east side of the street, somewhere between the North Ringroad intersection and the Gajah Mada University complex – I’m so sorry I couldn’t pin point the location. It’s cozy and offers variety of cuisines to suit your cravings. It also offers an LCD projector inside, so you can bet it gets festive whenever there’s soccer match on schedule.

I returned to Jakarta on Mandala flight RI 343, its earliest flight at 6.10am. There was the requisite flight delay – 15 minutes – but everything else went quite well. The flight was quite bumpy during the last 15 minutes – I blame the weather. I landed safely in Jakarta at around 7.15am and got picked-up by my family.

A little side note: I regret my decision not to bring my digital camera with me. I thought it was just a boring two days training so I didn’t bother.

2 Responses to “Yogyakarta”

  1. well,, i suggest u to stay in “Jogjakarta Plaza”,, better than another five-star hotels.. trust me in this.. :D

    *nice blog*

  2. @raddtuww tebbu:
    Oh. The one near Gejayan, right? OK. Suggestion duly noted and will be considered whenever Yogyakarta appear on our audit schedule. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

