RandomScrawls
Decidedly mundane…

Voluntary Overtime

Like everybody else, as a newcomer in The Company, I gave my best to make a name for myself. More than a few times I allowed myself to work more hours than I was supposed to. Jay Morrissey wrote a great article against such practice. An excerpt:

A good friend and colleague had been staying back at work for two to three hours every night for several months, rarely leaving before 7:30 in the evening. He was not paid for overtime. One day, as the time was approaching 6 o’clock, he prepared his bag to go home. His manager walked past his desk, looked at his watch and said “Are you leaving early today?” Amazing.

Corporations and employers also share the “recency” affliction. Goodwill is predicated on your most recent behaviour, do not fool yourself into thinking that long-term unpaid work affects the appreciation of your employer. It doesn’t.

Voluntary Overtime: Goodwill? Good grief. on Jay Morrissey

Well, now I feel less guilty when I go home after my 8-hours work day. Apparently, the key is in time management, my friends.

2 Responses to “Voluntary Overtime”

  1. damn right mas Arga, after almost a year whining and weekend workhours, i finally realize that the most important thing is not “how much time do you work”, but “how much does it worth”.
    you see, if i want a raise about a 100% of my current salary, i do not multiply by 2 of my workhours. instead, i divide it by 2 :p, that way i can get my 2-hours salary by my 1-hour work. thank you very much.

  2. @ jinbaghdad:
    Ahh. I see. It’s a perceptive raise, right? That’s one way to do it, jin. :)


Leave a Reply

