RandomScrawls
Decidedly mundane…

Happy 50th Birthday, LEGO!

According to Gizmodo, today marks the bricks set’s 50th anniversary.

The LEGO brick turns 50 at exactly 1:58pm today, January 28 2008. This timeline shows these fifty years of building frenzy by happy kids and kids-at-heart, which started in 1947, when LEGO bought their first plastic injection machine, and took final form in 1958, when the final shape of the stud-and-tube brick was patented. Since then, LEGO sets have been going through dozens of iterations, from the younger version (Duplo) to the most sophisticated LEGO TECHNIC and LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT, going through all the different themes of LEGOLAND and, for course, the most successful line of all times, LEGO Star Wars.

LEGO Brick Timeline: 50 Years of Building Frenzy and Curiosities via Gizmodo

Moreover, I have found a community site for LEGO fanatics and set owners. They’re essentially building a huge catalog of LEGO sets from the 1960s! Below are some of the ones I own or I have owned.

This was my first LEGO set. I remembered my parents gave it to me when I was still attending kindergarten. Though now incomplete – thanks to missing parts here and there – this set is now displayed inside a glass cabinet at my home.
This realistic-looking model of a chopper-carrying semi was given to me as a present from my parents for my being the best graduate in elementary school. I still have this one in prime condition, also inside the glass cabinet.

These are two of my three TECHNIC sets. Pretty neat huh? I also got a safari type chopper whose rotor blades can be rotated with a small wheel at the side. Too bad I can’t find it on the site.
These sets were given to me by my aunt. Her family was rather well-heeled and his three boys were getting olderfor the the LEGO. You can imagine the joy in me whenshe gave me a full bucket of random LEGO bricks along with these four sets, complete with their boxes. My mother threw away the original boxes but we still have these sets on display at our home.






4 Responses to “Happy 50th Birthday, LEGO!”

  1. u really playing with lego.. that’s great ;)

  2. @OPENGIGA TECH:
    You bet! :)

    Hadn’t it been for LEGO’s extravagant prices here in my country, I’d still be playing today. *sigh* I’ve had dreams of those shiny new TECHNIC and Mindstorms sets.

  3. Heeeeeey, you have SO MANY MORE Legos than me! I ‘borrowed’ my cousin’s LEGO, liked it too much, never returned it (til’ this day) :P

  4. @ Rusdy:
    Well, it’s all part of my beg, borrow, and steal grand scheme. :P


Leave a Reply

