RandomScrawls
Decidedly mundane…

How to Enable MS Mouse Bluetooth Dongle to Function as a Regular Bluetooth Dongle

Whew. The title is quite a mouthful, don’t you think so? Anyway, I own a Microsoft Wireless Mouse Presenter 8000 which I bought several months ago. It came with its own Bluetooth dongle which I read somewhere can function as a regular Bluetooth dongle. I tried – not too hard, apparently – once before to enable the regular mode, but failed. Yesterday, out of necessity, I need that dongle to connect my PC to my CDMA cellphone. I lost my data cable for the phone.

Here’s how you can enable the dongle as a regular Bluetooth dongle:

  1. Go to the Microsoft Mouse application.
  2. Click the Wireless tab.
  3. Click the Advanced... button under the Bluetooth connection frame.
  4. Choose the Hardware-managed Bluetooth mode radio button.
  5. Click the OK button.
  6. The application will ask you to unplug the dongle and plug it again. Do so.
  7. You will see the Bluetooth Settings icon on your taskbar notification area. This is a good sign which means all went well and your MS mouse dongle is now functioning as a regular Bluetooth dongle.

2 Responses to “How to Enable MS Mouse Bluetooth Dongle to Function as a Regular Bluetooth Dongle”

  1. This has me searching the internet for days…. I’m so glad you posted this. Rockin \m/

  2. @ EoinH:
    Glad I can help. Rockin’ too! \m/ (this is new – for me, at least).


Leave a Reply

